Life and Expectations

26 January 2018

 

I took some time off from the world to re evaluate who I was as a person, my goals in life and the path I was currently on. Okay, I know, who really takes time “off from the world”? I stayed away from social media, people who didn’t truly benefit my life and vice versa but most importantly…expectations. Expectations from my peers, my employer, my family, and essentially anyone you could imagine.

We live in a world where expectations are…well, expected and they don’t ever really go away.  We, as humans, do not want to fail anyone. More specifically, ourselves and the ones we love. Avoiding failure is inevitably engraved into our brains from the beginning of time. Trying to meet every single expectation in life will eat you alive if you don’t see aside which ones are valuable in life and which ones are just to deem you in a manner that doesn’t play an important/meaningful role in your life. I.E; materialistic objects.

How and which expectations you choose to decipher as “worth it” or “not worth it”… in the long run, is solely up to you as an individual. I, and no one else, can tell you the right or wrong way to go about it nor do we have a right to tell you if it’s valuable and worth it or not. You are your own self and you are entitled to make whatever designs you want in your life; it is your life at the end of the day.

I challenge you to step back and re evaluate what your goals are, WHY those are your goals and what they are accomplishing for yourself, your family or whoever. Next time you feel pressure to act or look a certain way, step back and ask yourself if it’s truly worth the stress or worry. What do you have to gain in life by conforming to what society tells you? Now take that answer and ask yourself, “Is it worth it”?

Leave a comment